No. Barbara’s Organic Corn Flakes. But the other 4 are worth going into a bit of detail on. But it’s not safe to assume it is. There are a handful of potential issues with Cocoa Pebbles for vegans. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned. Vitamin D3 almost always comes from the oil in sheep’s wool, also known as lanolin. No. The term “natural flavors” on an ingredients label covers a wide range of ingredients. Cocoa Pebbles have vitamin D3 added, which definitely is not vegan. Kool-Aid is one of the most popular artificial fruit drinks in America, but is Kool-Aid vegan? Cocoa PEBBLES™ is a sweetened crispy rice cereal for anyone who wants to start their day in a chocolatey way. I don’t get it. This vegan friendly granola option is made with buckwheat, coconut flakes and pumpkin seeds. It’s a controversial issue, so if you’d like to learn why, I’ve written a detailed post about why palm oil is only “technically” vegan. Fruity Pebbles are not food. Verdict: Cocoa Pebbles Are Not Vegan. Note - contains Shellac. 491. Energy KJ. Natural flavors – Natural flavors can be vegan, but they can also come from dairy or other animal sources. Cocoa Pebbles have vitamin D3 added, which definitely is not vegan. Palm Oil is Technically Vegan, But Many Vegans Don’t Eat It, Is White or Brown Sugar Vegan? cocoa pebbles, butter, jet puff marshmallows, Chocolate sprinkles, Hershey kisses DevonCTodd. If you’re following a vegan lifestyle, you may wonder if this childhood favorite cereal family is vegan. Are Cocoa Pebbles vegan? Make up your own mind on it. Cocoa Krispies are parve and as far as I can tell don't have eggs in them, so yes, they're vegan. Does it really matter? In summary, some people may consider Cocoa Pebbles to be vegan, but most ethical vegans would say it’s not. Palm oil comes from palm fruit, which you might think is vegan, however it’s one of the few plants that many ethical vegans don’t eat. Fruity Pebbles include all the additives as mentioned earlier, which make them unsuitable for vegans. Purp likes this. Nature’s Path Heritage Flakes Whole Grain Cereal Review, Best Meatless Meat Options For Every Occasion – Vegan Friendly. The natural flavors may or may not be vegan friendly. This post was created in partnership with Cocoa PEBBLES™ cereal. If you’re like me, you can never find enough gluten-free recipes to make for a big group – that people would never guess are gluten-free! See if we found Post Cocoa Pebbles to be gluten free in our exclusive testing. What I mean by technically is here is the ingredient list: Cocoa PEBBLES™. The D3 and sugar are almost certainly not vegan. The product isn’t cruelty-free either with the color testing process that it conducts. Here’s the full ingredient list of Cocoa Pebbles: Rice, sugar, hydrogenated vegetable oil (coconut and palm oil), cocoa, salt, caramel color, and natural and artificial flavor, niacinamide, reduced iron, zinc oxide, vitamin B6, vitamin A palmitate, vitamin B2, vitamin B1, folic acid, vitamin B12, vitamin D3. You might expect a chocolatey cereal like Cocoa Pebbles to contain milk, but the little cocoa-powdered pebbles are actually dairy-free and do not contain any other animal-derived ingredients, which means Cocoa Pebbles are vegan. No! : (eh hem, please respect the fact that it took me 2 hours to gather all of this information and i had to go to each brands site and read the ingredients one by one, so please, cut me some slack if i missed a few, although i don't think i did.) Fruity Pebbles are also vegan! They are flavored, processed cardboard and nothing about them should be considered healthy regardless of their impact on animals. Cocoa Pebbles have vitamin D3 added, which definitely is not vegan. There is vitamin D3 in them and that is from lanolin which would make them never vegan . Cocoa Pebbles are a popular Flintstones-themed chocolate cereal made by Post Foods. These Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Crunch Brownies are rich, decadent and totally over- the-top. Turns out Post’s Peanut Butter & Cocoa Pebbles is a boxful of vegan joy and it’s actually not too bad for you either. Are Cocoa Pebbles Vegan? If you’re following a vegan lifestyle, you may wonder if this childhood favorite cereal family is vegan. Non-Vegan Content In Fruity Pebbles. What are Cocoa Pebbles made of? "Parve" means it has no meat or dairy. So, just to recap….cocoa pebbles and fruity pebbles are vegan based on the ingredient list. Post Foods is making cereal healthier for all children, including those with celiac disease. You can’t tell if sugar is vegan or not based on seeing “sugar” in the ingredients list. They also have sugar and natural flavors in them, both of which may or may not be vegan. It is the oldest surviving cereal brand that is based on characters from a TV series or movie. While it can come from a vegan source, a company needs to go out of the way to use it, and I’m nearly certain that Post Cereals (who produces Cocoa Pebbles and others) do not use a vegan source of D3. I was bored, so i decided to see what common cereals were vegan. Head to the diet generator and enter the number of calories you want. For instance, the sustained crunchy nature of Cocoa Pebbles makes them a perfectly crunchy option for the entirety of breakfast whereas the puffy, porous nature of Cocoa Krispies makes the pieces more susceptible to milk, causing them to become soggier more quickly. Kool-Aid definitely doesn’t contain any real fruit, but that’s not to say the mostly synthetic beverage isn’t vegan. What's better than a Rice Krispie treat made with Cocoa Pebbles? Cocoa Pebbles contains chocolate-flavored crisp rice cereal bits, while Fruity Pebbles contains crisp rice cereal bits that come in a variety of fruit flavors with a sugar content of 9 grams per serving for Fruity Pebbles and 10 grams per serving for Cocoa Pebbles. As you were able to see Coco Pops are not vegan, and meaning that a certain product is vegan, do not mean that it is not made with meat or dairy, it is much more than this. Some natural flavors are vegan, and some of which are not (they come from meat, dairy, etc.). But considering we already know Cocoa Pebbles aren’t vegan, I don’t think it’s necessary to contact Post Cereals about it. The quick answer is technically, yes – both Fruity Pebbles and Cocoa Pebbles are vegan. Your email address will not be published. Are Fruity Pebbles Vegan? ), Making Aquafaba From Beans Other Than Chickpeas? Vitamin D3 can be sourced from vegan sources but unfortunately we don’t know for sure now that you mention it. We also have gluten free donuts, pot pie, loaded baked potato soup, and Italian subs. While cocoa pebbles contain no meat or dairy, they aren’t exactly vegan friendly. They also have sugar and natural flavors in them, both of which may or may not be vegan. The quick answer is technically, yes – both Fruity Pebbles and Cocoa Pebbles are vegan. 15 mins; 20 servings; If you want a rice crispy treat that is delicious for adults and kids to dig in I would make Cereal Crispy Treats Jenniferdobbins76. Though the official 50th anniversary for the beloved Post cereal isn’t until later this year, PEBBLES got a head start in 2020 by rolling out some super cool (and delicious!) Before downloading Are Cocoa Pebbles Vegan Videos, the right place to download mp3 musics, mp3 files, youtube songs, all music for free. Yes, it’s a very small amount, and some vegans might be okay with that, but for most: Cocoa Pebbles are not vegan because of the vitamin D alone. The manufacturers of Cocoa Pebbles carefully left us in the dark about where these flavors come from. Suitable for Vegan. (What About Bone Char? Fruity Pebbles and Cocoa Pebbles were breakfast cereals introduced by Post Consumer Brands way back in 1971. Just wondering, are fruity pebbles vegan? The natural flavors may or may not be vegan friendly. Kaia Cocoa Bliss. Vegans don’t have to be stuck with granola unless they want to be. Since caramel color is usually vegan, we won’t about that. Cocoa Pebbles Sweetened Rice Cereal Sweetened Rice, Family Size, Cocoa Pebbles 3/4 cup 120 calories 25.0 grams carbs 1.0 grams fat 1.0 grams protein 0 grams fiber 0 mg cholesterol 1.0 grams saturated fat 170.0 mg sodium 10 grams sugar 0 grams trans fat Want to use it in a meal plan? All flavors and varieties of Kool-Aid drinks and drink mixes are free of animal derivatives, which means Kool-Aid is vegan.. Kool-Aid Ingredients With so many healthy properties, Kaia Cocoa Bliss granola is a great way to start the day. I was surprised to see how many popular cereals were vegan, check it out! Coco Pebbles have chocolate in them. 22.2g Here’s a list of vegan cereals that you can get almost anywhere: 365 Everyday Value Organic Morning O’s. . If you’d like to learn more about D3, see my article on whether or not vitamin D3 is vegan. The only ones who knows the specific flavors used here are the manufacturers. They're also totally vegan and gluten-free so are a great option for individuals with any dietary restrictions. (Will You Get Sick?). Gluten-free! Energy Kcal. The clearest issue here is the small amount of vitamin D3 in the cereal. Thanks! And when it comes to giant companies like Post Cereals, which usually have multiple sugar suppliers, there’s a very good chance at least one of those uses bone char. While cocoa pebbles contain no meat or dairy, they aren’t exactly vegan friendly. What common cereals are vegan? So, with this information, it is impossible to tell if the cereal is Vegan unless you call the company and ask about the source of the Vitamin D. So, if you are vegan for health, you won’t find any animal products here but if you’re vegan for other reasons, you may opt for a clearly vegan cereal like Barbaras, Nature’s Path, or another whole grain lightly sweetened cereal without a bunch of potentially non-vegan additives. However, it’s important to note that natural and artificial flavors can be plant derived and/or animal derived and this information doesn’t have to be disclosed on the nutrition label and so it’s a bit of a …potentially and likely vegan but since it’s not clear from the manufacturer, Fruity Pebbles and Cocoa Pebbles may not be vegan because of the processing of the artificial and natural flavors. Last year was a big year for the PEBBLES brand and it doesn’t seem as if 2021 will be any different. . So when you look at the ingredient list, you won’t see any animal products or by products. We’ll start with the most problematic ingredients. The process by which the ingredients get to your cereal bowl, however, do include … Eat smart: Use our test results to decide if Post Cocoa Pebbles is right for your diet. And has been making mornings rock for over 40 years! Kaia Cocoa Bliss granola is a great way to get your chocolate fix without overindulging in sugar or processed ingredients. However, because we don’t know the source of the natural and artificial ingredients, these breakfast cereals may not be vegan and I would say go with what you feel most comfortable with! No. Are Fruity Pebbles Vegan? Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. There are a handful of potential issues with Cocoa Pebbles for vegans. No, Fruity Pebbles aren’t vegan as it contains several non-vegan ingredients along with some debatable vegan ingredients. Try our gluten-free Cocoa Pebbles Rice Krispie treat today. Barbara’s Peanut Butter Puffins. What I mean by technically is here is the ingredient list: RICE, SUGAR, HYDROGENATED VEGETABLE OIL (COCONUT AND PALM KERNEL OILS), COCOA (PROCESSED WITH ALKALI), SALT, CARAMEL COLOR, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, RICE, SUGAR, HYDROGENATED VEGETABLE OIL (COCONUT AND PALM KERNEL OILS), SALT, CONTAINS LESS THAN 0.5% OF NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, RED 40, YELLOW 6, TURMERIC OLEORESIN (COLOR), BLUE 1, YELLOW 5, BLUE 2, BHA (TO HELP PROTECT FLAVOR). Calling all chocoholics! Cocoa Puffs are not vegan because the vitamins and minerals used in the cereal are derived from animals. Which Cocoa Pebbles Ingredients Aren’t Vegan? They are flavored, processed cardboard and nothing about them should be considered healthy regardless of their impact on animals. Right out of the box, the Pebbles smelled like cocoa butter with a hint of nuts, not clearly peanuts, but nutty. It’s an umbrella term that covers a ton of ingredients. We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated site. I’ll go through each one, and then you can decide if you agree they aren’t vegan. Artificial colors – There are many in Fruity Pebbles like red 40 and yellow 6. Are Cocoa Pebbles Vegan }}- Recorded on January 9, 2010 using a Flip Video camcorder. Fruity Pebbles is vegan regarding the ingredients you would ingest when you eat it. Pop-tart Froday! Cereal Crispy Treats. Let’s find out more about them in the next section. But until the makers of Cocoa Pebbles disclose these flavors’ source, Cocoa Pebbles will remain non-vegan. Fruity and Cocoa Pebbles Ice Creams Are Here. Sugar isn’t an obvious non-vegan ingredient, but in North America, a lot of it is filtered using bone char (comes from cattle bones). Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. A vegan is a type of vegetarian who doesn't consume meat, also anything make by an animal. [Experiment], Can You Get Food Poisoning From Tofu? It is technically vegan, but controversial. I’ve highlighted 5 of the ingredients that either aren’t vegan, or have the potential not to be vegan. Nutritional Information (per 100g) Suitable for Vegetarian. collaborations like a Fruity Pebbles candy bar, coffee creamers, Magic Fruity Pebbles, and more. Calories, carbs, fat, protein, fiber, cholesterol, and more for Cocoa Pebbles Cereal (Post). Total Fat. Chocolate has milk in it and milk comes from cows. Technically "kosher" just means it doesn't have both meat and dairy, just one or the other. The Cocoa way to rock. Cocoa pebbles and PB&J. While cocoa pebbles contain no meat or dairy, they aren’t exactly vegan friendly. Then there’s also palm oil, which many vegans avoid. Of course, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) does not mandate companies to display this information on the nutrition label. 2054. You might expect a chocolatey cereal like Cocoa Pebbles to contain milk, but the little cocoa-powdered pebbles are actually dairy-free and do not contain any other animal-derived ingredients, which means Cocoa Pebbles are vegan.